Appointment of Representative to the Somerset Waste Board

Lead Officer: Ian Clarke, Assistant Director (Legal & Corporate Services)
Contact Details: Ian.clarke@southsomerset.gov.uk or 01935 462184

1. Purpose of the Report

This report seeks approval to appoint a replacement nominated member from South Somerset District Council to the Somerset Waste Board for the remainder of the municipal year 2014/15, following the resignation of Councillor Henry Hobhouse on 13 February 2015.

2. Recommendations

It is recommended that:

(1) Councillor Tim Carroll be appointed as nominated member of the Somerset Waste Board for the remainder of the municipal year 2014/15

3. Background

The Somerset Waste Partnership has been managing waste and recycling services since 1992; the partner authorities are Somerset County Council, Sedgemoor, South Somerset, Mendip and West Somerset District Councils, and Taunton Deane Borough Council.

The Somerset Waste Board is a Joint Committee and it consists of 2 representatives from each Partner Authority in Somerset.

Background Papers

Full Council appointments report, 15th May 2014.